Cook, Eat, Love.

For both Mother’s & Father’s Day this year, us kids (myself, my brother and my husband) decided that we’d keep things relatively simple: home-cooked meals with family, music and one furry, attention-seeking pooch. For Mother’s Day, both my family and my in-laws gathered at our apartment and feasted on two kinds of chicken, two different breads and a beautiful salad of mixed greens, toasted pecans, cranberries and mango.  (You can find the recipe here)

When Father’s Day rolled around, my parents had just returned from a French vacation and Dad requested a barbecue dinner. No problem, we said! My husband and I hit up Bruno’s, purchasing a fresh ciabatta, three different kinds of kebab and two different varieties of sausage.  My brother came to the house with asparagus and artichokes in tow. My husband was on bbq duty while I blanched the asparagus before they went on the grill, boiled the artichokes (for which my brother made the lemon-butter dipping sauce) and made a garlic-and-herb spread for the bread.

We assembled in the backyard and chowed down on quite the feast:

While there was nothing super-fancy about either dinner, both were made with love for those we love. Both meals took some effort, but we didn’t kill ourselves getting it done. In fact, I think it’s safe to say that we all rather enjoyed cooking for those who cooked for us for so many years.  The more of these dinners I do, the more I enjoy them. I’m learning to budget my time so that I’m not stressed out when people arrive. (And to remember the all-important rule of cooking for guests: make the dishes at least once for yourself to work out the kinks!)

I encourage everyone out there to try cooking for someone else: the response that you get will almost certainly make you want to do it more and more often.  You’ll get the hang of it and it will become addictive. If there’s no one around for whom you can cook, then do it for yourself. I am completely convinced that food tastes better when it’s prepared by someone who cares for the diner and, in fact, the day after the bbq, we got a note from Mom thanking us, “…so very much for giving Dad the perfect Father’s Day. Your effort was appreciated more than you can know, and I assure you that Dad was greatly touched by it.”  How can that not be an inspiration?

~ by foodNURD on June 22, 2010.

4 Responses to “Cook, Eat, Love.”

  1. Yay for J&J!!! I take it they had a nice holiday?

  2. I cooked for my family last night and FAILED! The boys still ate everything though, thank goodness they are too young to be very discerning 🙂

    • haha! Well, I hope your family appreciates the effort you put in! I’ve had a few meals come out that way. My husband encourages me to think of them as “learning experiences” and they usually are. Like, say, don’t pour a whole bunch of cold milk into a pot full of hot, boiled potatoes. You get something much closer to glue than actual food. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
