Is it safe now?

Alas, 24 is done. Over. Finished. Kaput. As Budd in Tarantino’s fantasic Kill Bill Vol: 2 asked Elle Driver, “…which “R” are you filled with: Relief or Regret?”

I suppose I am more relieved that regretful. 24 needed to end. It’s unpredictability was getting, well, predictable. It didn’t stop me from watching every minute of it, but I’d rather it went out on a high note than hobbling out with its tail between its legs. That’d be no way for Jack Bauer to behave! I’m relieved that I no longer have to suffer through characters’ deaths: just about every protagonist’s death hurt me. Teri, Renee, Chappelle, Curtis, Edgar…on and on. Some betrayals were more shocking than others (say, Nina in season 1 vs.  Sean in season 7); some plot twists more believable than others (Logan’s evil plans vs. Jack’s evil family). 24 was the kind of show that only needed to adhere to its internal logic: if you buy the premise, you go along for the ride and chalk up the unlikely events to compelling tv. It wasn’t perfect, but it was better than a lot of the schlock that’s come and gone since 24’s premiere back in 2001.

I am relieved that I don’t have to sit through more nail-biting moments and I am relieved that I no longer have to put up with ridiculous feline-themed subplots.  I am relieved that it didn’t end with a gut kick a la season 1. It ended the way it should have: with a moment between the two characters that you’ve cared about through the entire series. Their loyalty to each other kept the show as grounded as it could possibly be. Not grounded in reality, mind you, but Chloe’s sarcasm and intelligence balanced the tension well. When someone was being a jerk at CTU – usually the boss – and you wanted to yell at the tv, she was the one who’d put them in their place. Was she weird and maybe not to everyone’s taste? Sure. But Chloe had some of the best lines – and moments – of the series.

So while I do regret that the show is over, I’m much more relieved than anything else. My blood pressure will no longer spike Monday nights between 9-10 and my husband will be happy that he won’t have to put up with my 24 dreams (oh yeah, I’ve totally dreamed that I’m Jack Bauer, babies!). So long, Jack. Please, oh please, come back most awesomely in movie form!

~ by foodNURD on May 26, 2010.

2 Responses to “Is it safe now?”

  1. Damn it.

Leave a Reply

 
