Mirror, mirror on the wall…

Which is the strangest book of all?

Back in December 2009, I was browsing around the Chapters down the street, looking for gifts for the family. They had a promotion on: spend $50, hand over a scratch ‘n’ win card, and you can win anywhere from $10 – $2500. Sweet. I head to the check out line with my goodies in tow and hand over the card. The cashier swipes it once, then swipes it again. “Just give me a moment, ma’am.  I hope you’re not in too much of a rush, because you’ve just won $2500 and you’re going to need to fill out a little paperwork.”

EEE! Chapters is like my Mecca. I read ravenously, often two books concurrently. I bought cookbooks, books on pop culture, satire, fiction, travel…you name it, I grabbed it. Of the many I bought, one stands out as the most exceptionally weird: The Death of Bunny Munro, by Nick Cave.

Nick Cave is an interesting cat: he’s been in several bands, the most famous of which is Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. He’s a front man, a songwriter, a composer, a producer, an author and a screenwriter. (Check out the Australian movie, “The Proposition.” Really interesting.) He’s a dark guy and this book is, well, dark.  I don’t want to give too much away, but the story is about a philandering detective and the twist his life takes after a major event. It is, quite possibly, the most unique book I have ever read; but, I have reservations in recommending it. It’s just…so…weird. It’s not trippy like Trainspotting or insanely violent like American Psycho, but it certainly deals with trippy subject matter and is, occasionally, violent.

If you’re looking for something decidedly un-mainstream, pick it up. It’s a short read and it’s different…but don’t say I didn’t warn ya.

~ by foodNURD on May 5, 2010.

33 Responses to “Mirror, mirror on the wall…”

  1. What a great blog, I really enjoyed reading 🙂

  2. Maybe I’ll read that this Smmer to clear my brain out! Trippy = good

  3. Thanks for giving us insight to this great author!!

  4. Wow… I was just sitting here trying to figure out why there is a bunny on the front of the book if Nick is a cat…

    Anyway, congrats on the 2500 and getting “freshly pressed”!!

    And I’ll check out the book.

  5. I like Nick Cave, I’ll check this book out next time I’m at the library.

    Congrats on the big money! $2500 probably came in pretty handy…

  6. Have you read House of Leaves? I ask this because I feel the exact same way about that book. I wonder if the two are similar. I will have to look into this. I actually think I own a Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds CD. In fact, I believe they opened up for someone at a concert I saw once upon a time. My interest is piqued. Thanks!

  7. I read an interview with him about this book and have been very curious, but forgot all about it. Thanks for the reminder!

  8. Wow.. for $2500 u can get sooo many books. Books will always be good gifts. And when you get voucher that much to spend on books, well… u’re in (small) heaven 😉 Enjoy reading.

    • I was pretty ridiculously excited. I couldn’t believe my luck. I never, ever win anything and honestly assumed that when he swiped the card a second time and looked vaguely puzzled, there was something wrong with the card. 🙂

  9. I have read it, it is weird but I thought also fabulously written. The kind of book that stays with you for a long time…

  10. Two grand to spend on books! That’s as good as a lottery win.

  11. The Death of Bunny Munro is great. I love this cover – the one I’ve got has a woman’s polka-dotted knickered crotch on the front of it.

  12. I am not the biggest reader, but somehow this book seems appealing to me. I will have to check it out.

  13. Great blog! Can’t wait to get my hands on this book!

  14. Thanks! I’ll look for his book. 🙂

  15. Wow, I’d probably spend my winnings on more books as well! What a prize!

  16. Amazing

  17. Congratulations to you! Two windfalls — the Chapters win, and landing the Freshly Pressed page. If you don’t already, maybe you should start buying lottery tickets!

  18. Nick Cave lives in Hove, where I used to work. My boss had a huge crush on him, and when she was supposed to be telling us important things about work, would talk about Nick (and her dreams) instead.

  19. You won $2500 from chapters to spend at chapters?! Extreme jealousy!!

  20. Sounds very intriguing! I might have to check this one out… thanks!

  21. The truth,
    even if i won a candy i’ll b happy..
    Great blog ^_^

  22. Always looking for a good book…So jealous you won 2500 to spend on books.

    http://www.wutevs.wordpress.com

  23. thanks for pointing this book out!

  24. Thats a nice way of building curiosity in other people’s minds!!!

  25. AWESOME BLOG THANKS!

  26. This blog is very good. Thanks for this. I will bookmark this page..

  27. If I had won $2500, I definitely would have spent it on books too. They are a true investment.

Leave a Reply

 
